Applying for PhD in physics by non-physicist

• Admissions
  • Thread starter janakiraman
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Phd Physics
In summary, the person is interested in pursuing a PhD in physics but has an undergraduate degree in mechanical engineering and limited knowledge in basic physics courses. They are seeking advice on whether it is possible to apply for a PhD in US or Europe and how to prepare for it. Options such as taking an MSc in physics, doing an MSc in India, or applying for applied physics PhD programs are suggested. Factors like family, funding, and time should be considered when making a decision.
janakiraman
Hi all

Well I'm extremely interested in physics and I'm really interested in doing a PhD in physics. But my problem is i have an undergraduate degree in mechanical. And I'm currently doing my master's as well in mechanical in NUS, Singapore. However my supervisor for my master's thesis is from physics and i now currently work on theoretical condensed matter physics. Well as a matter of fact, i have just started learning physics as my undergraduate i never really learned anything owing to my horrible curriculum and examination methodologies.

I'm extremely interested in doing a PhD in physics but i don't know most of its basic courses like advanced classical physics, GRT, electromagnetism, quantum field theory etc. (I'm just learning quantum mechanics and solid state physics). What would you people suggest me? I aspire to apply PhD in US and europe and i would like to do theoretical work. Would it be possible. Would the universities accept me? How can i prepare myself from now on so that i can be able to cope up with my PhD. I plan to start my PhD from spring 2010 which means i have one more year to go.

I would be extremely happy if you people can help me out in this issue

Physics news on Phys.org
janakiraman said:
Hi all