Can someone explain abberation of starlight?

• Thread starter Pharaoness
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Explain
In summary: Theta is a measure of how much the direction of light has been distorted, and c is the speed of light. So when you see a star, the light is coming from all directions, but it's being focused in one spot because of the Earth's atmosphere and your eyes. But when you look at a star through a telescope, the light is coming from all directions, but it's being focused in one spot because of the telescope. This is because the telescope is pointing at a point in the sky that is closer to the star than the Earth is. So when you see the star, it's spread out, and when you see the telescope image, it's centered. This is why you need to tilt your telescope to see the
Pharaoness
Hello everyone,
I was wondering if anyone can explain how the abberation of starlight works in general terms, as well as what exactly it is. I am a first year astronomy student and this is for my astronomy/physics class, and would like a general explanation of what it is. This is all my professor would require for the upcoming midterm, so if anyone can help that would be great. Thanks!

Astronomy news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF;
The best use of these forums is to give your ideas of what it is and that will help us pinpoint the source of your confusion. Have a go reading through:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aberration_of_light
... and telling us where you get lost.

Thank you for responding Simon! I guess I should have elaborated on what I understand and what I would like to know. So I know that this is not like parallax in that it depends on velocity, so while parallax increases the further out you go in the solar system, aberration of starlight increases the closer to the Sun a planet is (because the closer to the Sun a planet is, the faster its orbital velocity). Hence, from Mercury the aberration ellipse is greater than aberration ellipses on Earth.