Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can we speak with higher beings of existance?

1. Sep 19, 2007 #1
    Hello. I'm a fairly new physics student that goes to no school but is rather sitting at home and self learning this subject. I'm eager to learn more and any feedback or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

My theory is that if a higher being existed that it would be scientifically impossible to converse with said being. Lets see if i can explain.

Ok for this instance, let's pretend that we humans live in a 2d universe and the higher being in a 3rd demension. If the higher being was indeed observing us in an "kid with a magnifying glass" fashion. And in the 2d universe sound travels in a wave along the 2d demension and does not transcend into the 3rd demension as such are the rules of the 2nd demension which sound could only travel forward, backward, side to side. Then theoretically the higher being could not hear us because the sound would not be audible to the 3rd demension because sound could not travel up nor down. Thus people claiming to have spoken with a higher power are frauds <edit - MIH>.

Unless of course they spoke through telekenetics in which case this would be an entire other conversation.

If there is flaw in my logic please let me know asap.

Thanks

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 20, 2007
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 20, 2007 #2
    Hey Alan.

I think that you may be on to something with your theory. However, in this case I think that there may be a flaw with your 2d/3d argument. Let me explain.

If we imagine the 2d world as the x-y plane in a given space, we can imagine 3d world consisting of the same x-y plane with the z-axis added to give the 3rd dimension.