Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Copying from drive to drive in Alt Linux testdisk.

1. Dec 10, 2015 #1

DaveC426913

Gold Member

I am stumped and out of time (got till end of day). I'm trying to recover some files off a crashed Win7 laptop. I'm using a bootable CD with Alt Linux RescueLiveCD and testdisk to copy them to and SD card. I'm new to Linux, so feeling around blindly.

The SD card has been full-formatted on my Win10 system. (I tried formatting it using the Linux, but for some reason, even though I made a new partition, that partition wasn't recognized. ) A friend told me Windows will format it as FAT just fine.

When I run tesdisk, it picks up my HD, my CD and the SD.

I'm at a prompt root@localhost.
    fdisk -l
    shows me my HD the CD - and the 15G SD card as sdb
    ls /dev/sdb
    shows me a valid but empty directory, as does ls /dev/sdb1 (If I eject the SD, reboot and look again they're not valid)

So I launch testdisk, find my files of choice, and I copy them to /dev/sdb. Just for fun, I copy them to /dev/sdb1 as well. Both succeed. The program says Success! 1 files copied!

Now I quit out of livetest, back to the prompt.
    ls /dev/sdb and ls /dev/sdb1 show me a valid but empty directories, as before. And when I pop the chip into my working lappie, the chip indeed has no files on it.

What am I doing wrong?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 10, 2015 #2

ElijahRockers

Gold Member

Hard to say. Do you have internet access with the live CD? If so, can you copy and paste the terminal output of your attempt to a log file and upload it here?

4. Dec 10, 2015 #3

DaveC426913

Gold Member

I'll try.

5. Dec 10, 2015 #4
    Hey Dave,
    You have to mount the disks somewhere on the partition first before you can interact with them to copy files and such.