Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Could packet round-trip times be an analog to qubits?

1. May 30, 2013 #1
    I'm a programmer who is trying to figure out if there is any possible way to implement a pseudo-quantum cryptography algorithm without quantum computers, or is Bell's Inequality something that is going to get in the way of that goal? Or if I am anywhere in the ballpark. I wouldn't be surprised if I were way off on everything.

The reason I'm looking at packet round-trip times is because it seems like an analog to a qubit. It doesn't have a certain value until you measure it.

This may be good for cryptography since an eavesdropping party couldn't measure it and see what you would see, and the eavesdropping would affect the value you end up with. For example, the owner of megaupload figured out that authorities were eavesdropping on his internet connection due to a decline in his connections performance, he then noticed an extra hop when running a trace route.

Compromised computers or routers on a local network could do similar things and not be nearly as noticeable. It still takes a cpu tick to process, it could be almost impossible to notice or measure in that circumstance, but it still changes the round-trip time, a very subtle change.

Oh and this is my first post here. Hello :-)

2. jcsd
  3. May 30, 2013 #2

f95toli

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

It is not the same thing. The fact that a qubit can be in a superposition of 0 and 1 has nothing as such to do with measurements, it simply means that it is in state which does not have a classical analouge. It has nothing to do with our inability to measure it.