Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Deleting threads without proper reason

1. May 9, 2015 #1
    I had created a thread in the chemistry forums regarding the addition of thiols to vinyl ethers.
    The question was proper and "was not homework/numerical/objective question". I just wanted to know if the reaction was correct and the question was "not given by teacher/not taken from problem books/school textbooks/tution books". It was a conceptual question and I am not a chemistry professor yet. No information about the free radical initiator had been given and only one line about the topic was given. I just wanted to know if my understanding was correct. A simple yes or no would have helped me a lot.
    Such kind of question was answered in general physics forums. (I can give you the link).
    Also, @Borek could have asked me to explain further. he could have replied in the thread rather than simply removing it.
    You must also understand that I dont have a good chemistry teacher to answer my Question.

Last edited: May 9, 2015
  2. jcsd
  3. May 9, 2015 #2
    Instead of simply deleting, you should have sent a warning and should have allowed me to edit the question.

4. May 9, 2015 #3

Nugatory

Staff: Mentor

If you want a copy of the deleted post so that you can edit it into a more acceptable form, just ask.

5. May 9, 2015 #4
    Okay. Please retore the post and let me edit it. I still dont know why @Borek deleted it.

6. May 9, 2015 #5
    how do you define "homework question"?

7. May 9, 2015 #6

Nugatory

I didn't say I would restore it, I said that you could have a copy. It'll be in your inbox in a few minutes.

Borek explained why the post was deleted in the private message that he sent you.

8. May 9, 2015 #7