Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Determinants By Row Reduction/Row Echelon Form

1. Jul 15, 2010 #1
    Hello all,

I have been studying some linear algebra, and I recently came upon the method of finding determinants by row reduction (to row echelon form). But isn't it true than a matrix can have any row echelon form? If so, this would mean different determinants, right?

I am studying from "Elementary Linear Algebra With Applications" (ninth edition) by Howard Anton & Chris Rorres. In the first chapter it says "a row echelon form of a matrix is not unique", which only adds to my confusion.

Hopefully someone can shed some light on this issue with examples.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 17, 2010 #2

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

I don't know what you mean by this. No, it is NOT true that a matrix can have "any" row echelon form. For example, a non-invertible matrix must have at least one row all zeros in any "row echelon form". It is true that the "row-echelon form" is not unique- but not that it can by "any" form.

Yes, it is true that you can row-reduce a matrix to different row-echelon forms having different numbers on the main diagonal.

You cannot just "get" the determinant of a matrix from its row-echelon form- you get the determinant from the way you row reduce it:
    1) If you swap two rows, you multiply the determinant by -1.
    2) If you add a multiple of one row to another, you don't change the determinant.
    3) If you multiply a row by a number, you multiply the determinant by that number.

So, for example, suppose your matrix is
    [tex]\begin{bmatrix}2 & 1 & 2 \\ 1 & 1 & 1 \\ 2 & 2 & 5\end{bmatrix}[/tex]

You can reduce this to row-echelon form by, say, subtracting 1/2 the first row from the second, and subtracting the first row from the third to get