1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Does anyone know some graduate program of NMR

1. Jul 24, 2012 #1
    Hi, everyone.
    I am a junior student major in physics, and after an internship in a NMR lab this summer, I am really interested in this field, and I decided to learn it in my graduate program. Does anyone know any program of nmr, cos I find out that most of these programs are set up by medical department not by the physics department.
    I really need some recommendations to apply in 2013 fall, and I am not a very ambitious person, so small size program is also fine.
    Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 25, 2012 #2
    I presume that you've had to read or at least seriously skim through some journal articles in the course of your internship that are relevant to your work. Have you started to look up the authors of those papers, and of the papers that they cite, for some idea as to who the interesting researchers are in your field?

Having said that, you may want to also keep an eye out for materials/physical chemists who do NMR - I can think of a few who aren't structural bio/biophysics types without too much difficulty. Unless you *really* don't want to go slumming with the chemists.....

4. Jul 25, 2012 #3
    So you want to specialize in just NMR? I've heard of no program that will specialize you in just one experimental technique.

5. Jul 25, 2012 #4
    er...Thank you for your reply, maybe I did not put it clearly enough, the lab I worked in are doing some research like designing new type of NMR, or instrument designing, I find that is cool.

6. Jul 25, 2012 #5