Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Does gravity break down in the big bang?

1. May 18, 2013 #1
    Dear all,

I just read something in a book by Lawrence Krauss which I don't understand. I hope you can answer my question:

Kraus makes the argument that if you take quantum mechanics and gravity, something is more energetically favorable than nothing. Hence if you take nothing, at some point something will arise.

My question is:

Doesn't gravity (or maybe quantum mechanics, too) break down, like the nuclear forces, in the big bang?

If so, then does Kraus's argument still hold? Or do I interpret it wrongly?

I'm a biologist and only read bits a pieces about physics, so forgive me if I've said something ignorant, which I know is easy to do.

Kind regards,
    Daan from Amsterdam

2. jcsd
  3. May 18, 2013 #2
    I haven't read Krauss' book and so can't comment on the larger argument and whether or not it holds.

As for your particular question, though, it's important to distinguish between "X breaks down" and "our understanding of X breaks down". Our mathematical models for gravity (and other forces) break down at the Big Bang (which is the reason physicists borrowed the word "singularity" from the mathematicians for such situations). That doesn't necessarily mean the forces themselves break down at the Big Bang, just our current understanding of them. The break down of our mathematical models in such circumstances is precisely why physicists are currently looking for better ones.

4. May 18, 2013 #3

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award