Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Explaining Black Holes to 5th Graders

1. Mar 9, 2010 #1
    Hi All,

So I'm a current physics grad student - who's supposed to give an outreach presentation (over skype) to some 5th graders who have been learning about Black Holes.

I have no problem with the technical content - but does anybody have some good ways to explain things to elementary students? I'm looking for good explanations which keep the subject intriguing but try to correct some of the media misconceptions....

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 9, 2010 #2
    Give the NDT speech about "spagettification" That will keep 5th graders interested for sure.
  4. Mar 9, 2010 #3
    You'll probably be suprised at how much they already know.
  5. Mar 9, 2010 #4

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

What concepts do you plan to present?
  6. Mar 9, 2010 #5
    They are supposed to be writing and asking questions - so I'm not sure what will come up. But I assume there are going to be asking fairly basic stuff

7. Mar 10, 2010 #6

Char. Limit

Gold Member

Watch out - some of those fifth graders are pretty smart.

You could always explain why black holes bend light...

Of course, without the math involved. I doubt even Feynman knew a tiny piece of the math involved in fifth grade.

I don't know if you can find it, but The Universe has a show on Black Holes that may give you an idea of what they might ask...
  8. Mar 10, 2010 #7
    Any chance you get to use an astronomically large number do it they will eat it up.
  9. Mar 10, 2010 #8

National Geography/Discovery/BBC should have interesting explanations ..

Just keep it humorous and interesting.. Details are not important but the way you deliver the speech should be of more focus. I believe a high school student might have better explanation for the grade 5 students than a grad student.