Explaining your Physics degree to relatives

• Thread starter TechieDork
  • Start date

Main Question or Discussion Point

I'm studying 2nd year Physics in Thailand and I always have hard time explaining what I would do with my Physics degree for a living to my relatives and family.

Every relative gathering on holidays, I'll always get bombarded with questions .

-So what's you're going to do after college,son.
-You better go for an engineering.
-I expect you to be the first doctor in our family.

Last edited:

Answers and Replies

russ_watters
Mentor
I'm studying 2nd year Physics in Thailand and I always have hard time explaining what I would do with my Physics degree for a living to my relatives and family.

Every relative gathering on holidays, I'll always get bombarded with questions .

-So what's you're going to do after college,son.
-You better go for an engineering.
-I expect you to be the first doctor in our family.
Is there a question in there...? If not, I have one: So what's you're going to do after college, son?

Maybe most laymen have no idea what physcists
Is there a question in there...? If not, I have one: So what's you're going to do after college, son?

Oh Sorry,I forgot to put the question mark in there.
Yeah,it's a question

Yeah,it's a question
Sorry if this sounds rude, I don't mean it that way.

So you are asking us, what you will do with your degree for a living? Really, how can we answer that?

You need to reformulate the question into something that can be answered by strangers on the internet.

russ_watters
Mentor
Sorry if this sounds rude, I don't mean it that way.

So you are asking us, what you will do with your degree for a living? Really, how can we answer that?

You need to reformulate the question into something that can be answered by strangers on the internet.