Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Finding a research interest/project

1. Aug 23, 2006 #1
    Now that I'm a research assistant at graduate school in mechanical engineering, I'm having trouble finding precisely where my research interests lie. At least part of my problems stem from the fact that my undergraduate degree is in physics, not engineering. Here are the math/physics/engineering-related courses I took as an undergrad:
    University Physics I & II
    Modern Physics I & II
    Engineering Circuits
    Digital Circuits
    Engineering Thermodynamics
    Classical Mechanics
    Quantum Mechanics
    Classical Physics Laboratory

Calculus II and III
    Ordinary Differential Equations
    Linear Algebra
    Proof Techniques
    Abstract Algebra
    Applied Statistics
    Mathematical Statistics I & II

The graduate courses I'm currently enrolled in are:
    Modeling and Simulation of Mechatronic Systems
    Manufacturing Techniques

With this background, what mechanical engineering research area am I best suited for? I still have a month or so to find a niche, but I would appreciate any advice or input regarding this situation. Does anyone have a suggestion for a particular research endeavor I have the tools/skills to successfully do work on?
    Thanks in advance!
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 23, 2006 #2

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Hmmm... interesting question. Perhaps vacuum technology? Propulsion systems? Nuclear reactors? Materials science?

- Warren
  4. Aug 23, 2006 #3

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member