Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

For all cricket fans or for those who have a genral idea of what cricket is

  1. Jul 2, 2012 #1
    Last two batsmen are at strike. Both have scored a total of 96 runs each. 2 balls remain and the team needs 5 runs to win.Both batsmen intend to complete their centuries(100).Devise a way in which both the batsmen can complete their centuries?
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 2, 2012 #2


    User Avatar
    Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

    Why don't we have more cricket threads??

    The first batter hits a four and the second either a four or six. They need five runs to win so if the first batter hits a four then that gets him his century and means the other batter just needs one run to win the match. If he gets a four or six then they win and he gets his century.
  4. Jul 2, 2012 #3


    User Avatar
    Homework Helper

    Except that once the first batter hits a 4, he remains on strike, so his partner never gets a chance. If he scores even one run off the next ball, the game ends and his partner misses his century. If he misses the next ball, the game ends with a loss.

    All this happens at the tail end of a single over, so you can't rely on the over ending to rotate the strike.
  5. Jul 2, 2012 #4


    User Avatar
    Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

    Damn that's true, I forgot about the batters not swapping...hmm...
  6. Jul 2, 2012 #5


    User Avatar
    Homework Helper

    I can't see a way to make this happen, even allowing for extras yielded by the fielding team.
  7. Jul 2, 2012 #6


    User Avatar
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

    Presumably "two balls remain" implies this is a limited overs match. In some limited overs rules, no-balls have to be bowled again and the batter gets a "free hit" (no fielding position changes allowed, etc), so "two balls" doesn't literally mean "two".
  8. Jul 2, 2012 #7
    If on the first ball, they try for 5. On the second, the other batsman can hit for a 4.

    Or alternatively more reasonable approach is first batsman hit 4 and then 1. Now there's a tie and second batsman is playing. Second batsman can hit 4 if an extra over is allowed.
  9. Jul 2, 2012 #8


    User Avatar
    Gold Member

    Total wild guess. The first ball is a no ball but it's hit for three runs and the no ball counts as a run to the batsman because he hit the ball. The other batsman is now at the crease and can hit a four or six.
  10. Jul 2, 2012 #9
    The extra run for the no ball goes into "extras" and not into the batsman's account.
    The interesting part of this puzzle is that the first batsman has to score less than 5 runs, else the match would be over in the penultimate ball and the other batsman wouldn't get a chance. Even if he does manage to run for the 4 runs by misfielding or overthrows, he ends up striking the last ball. And the rule which awards five runs if it hits the helmet doesn't help either.

    BTW why isn't this thread in Brain Teasers?
  11. Jul 2, 2012 #10
    An absurd but plausible solution:
    The first batsman hits the ball very very high so that by the time the ball is caught, the batsmen have run four and crossed each other for the fifth. The first batsman has scored 4 runs, has his century and is out. Since the batsmen crossed over (the second batsman nearer to the striker end than the other batsman) before the ball was caught, the second batsman is in strike for the last ball, hits a four for his century and they win.
  12. Jul 2, 2012 #11
    No, if you're caught you don't get runs, but the batsman could be run out taking a 5th run. That way he'd get 4 and the 2nd would be on strike.
  13. Jul 2, 2012 #12
    That's a better plausibility.
    But I think u may be wrong here. I have seen singles taken before the ball is caught and the run awarded to the batsmen. The highest no. of runs scored before the ball is caught (that I could find) was three runs scored way back in 1932.
  14. Jul 2, 2012 #13
    According to the current laws of cricket I am correct. The relevant rule is 18.9. Maybe things were different in the past. I can't comment on your link as it didn't open for me.
  15. Jul 3, 2012 #14
    That's interesting. Can u give me a link where I can read about the specific law you mentioned? As for the link, it opens fine for me now.
  16. Jul 3, 2012 #15
    I included a hyperlink in my post, does it not open for you?

    Your link worked for me this time, though it doesn't appear to contradict my claim. It says the batsmen ran 3 while the ball was in the air, not that 3 were awarded to the batsman after the catch had been taken. It's common practice for batsmen to run while the ball is in the air, the reasoning being that if the fielder drops it the runs will count.
  17. Jul 3, 2012 #16
    Got the link now. It's quite a challenge picking out links in posts in my mobile with no difference in text color. Guess I am wrong then. Great link by the way.
  18. Jul 3, 2012 #17
    Can't bat without a partnership.
  19. Jul 3, 2012 #18
    I forgot about them being the last two batsmen. Is there definitely a positive resolution to this? I'm struggling to see how it could be done.
  20. Jul 4, 2012 #19


    User Avatar

    short run trick.

    1st batsman hits ball and the ball is lost in field or outfield is too slow that they run 5 runs. but umpire calls one of those runs as short run.
    therefore 1st man gets 100.2nd on strike,1 more to win ,he hits four/six to complete his century.
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2012
  21. Jul 4, 2012 #20
    Good answer.
Share this great discussion with others via Reddit, Google+, Twitter, or Facebook