Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Geometry Optimization with GAUSSIAN 03W

1. May 12, 2010 #1
    I am new in computational chemistry. I was calculating by "DFT and HF theory" (using GAUSSIAN 03W) molecular parameters of "2D coordination polymer, [Cd(μ-pydc)(2-mim)]n (pydc = pyridine-2,3-dicarboxylate, 2-mim = 2-methylimidazole)" . I have Crystallographic data are belong to this structure. My problem is to create the input file. I dont know How to create input file for polymeric structure in 2D.
    Thanks in advance for your help.
  2. jcsd
  3. May 14, 2010 #2

Science Advisor

Gaussian needs a three dimensional structure. But you can't calculate a polymer. You need a specific model with a specific number of atoms. For your purposes, probably one or two monomer units. What kind of parameters are you trying to calculate, specifically?

And by "DFT and HF theory" do you mean DFT calculations and Hartree-Fock calculations, respectively, or do you mean hybrid-DFT methods (which utilize HF to calculate exchange)?
  4. May 17, 2010 #3
    First of all thanks for your comments. My aim is to calculate IR spectra and geometry optimization by DFT and HF calculation respectively. I did not know how to create models.Because, as a Crystallographic structure is continued in three dimensions. What you write, I realize I have to choose only one or two asymmetric unit.

5. May 17, 2010 #4

Science Advisor

Right. Well for the sake of accuracy, I should probably mention that there does exist programs (mostly for solid state DFT) that implement periodic boundary conditions, but that's usually for quite well-ordered, tightly-bound crystals. So I'm not sure it'd be either usable or necessary here.