Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Golden section, levenberg-Marquadt

1. Sep 17, 2009 #1
    Hi I am a third year mechanical engineer, and have been reading around the course. I have never heard of the two methods above, and they have never been mentioned on the course - and therefore arent relevent, but I am reading an article that seems to use them. The following is what I have:

It is some form of least squares method for curves, used to estimate a few unknown parameters.

I am trying to find out a and b, although c0 is included in the brackets of S:

The first image, is the first equation, with a, b and c0 although the equation for c0 is shown. The second equation I think is how to solve for a?????

Anyway, i have five or 6 values for T0 which apparently using one of the above methods means I can approximate using these equations, the values for a and b?

Anyone know how to do this and what they are talking about?

THanks

Alex

Last edited: Sep 18, 2009
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 17, 2009 #2

D H

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

It looks like you have been reading the wikipedia articles. These are optimization methods. The Levenberg–Marquardt wiki article says "The primary application of the Levenberg–Marquardt algorithm is in the least squares curve fitting problem." That's true in the sense that least squares curve fitting is one of the most widespread uses of all optimization techniques. It is also true in the sense that Levenberg–Marquardt is fairly well-suited to non-linear least squares problems. It is not true in the sense that this Levenberg–Marquardt cares in the least what motivates the function to be minimized.