How much do late transcripts affect graduate admission decisions?

In summary, a UG senior is finishing up their applications to 8 schools, but forgot to submit transcripts from one semester abroad and introductory physics classes. This may affect admission decisions and could potentially put their application at a lower priority. The advice given is to send everything overnight mail as soon as possible and to make sure unofficial transcripts are also submitted. The impact of missing transcripts may vary depending on the school and department.
realmadrid070
UG senior currently finishing up my applications. Applying to 8 schools (MIT, Stanford, Columbia, Caltech, MSU, Notre Dame, Duke, UW-Seattle for the curious). I have plenty of research experience and a 3.8 gap (higher for math, physics). My recs should all be solid. This past semester was pretty hectic, and I somehow totally forgot to get some of my transcripts ahead of time. Specifically, I mean the transcript from one semester when I studied abroad (at a mathematics program), and the transcript of the introductory physics classes I took at a local university one summer. The transcript for my UG institution has been submitted on time.

I'm going to send these out in the next few days, so optimistically most schools will receive them by mid January. How much will this affect admission decisions? Will they have already thrown my application out? Is there anything I can do?

Physics news on Phys.org
not sure, but i imagine it can't be too bad if you have the app in already, but not the transcripts. mainly you may miss out on funding if they have already offered it to others, but i really can't say for sure.