1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to become an Engineer while on active duty?

1. Jun 26, 2015 #1
    Hello everyone. I am new to this site and I wonder is it possible to become an Engineer while on active duty? I am currently in school but not for engineering. I have thoroughly enjoyed all of my math classes and I work as a helicopter mechanic and have for the last 13 years. I love figuring out how a helicopter works. Unfortunately, I am currently stationed overseas so an Engineering degree is very difficult to obtain. Does anyone have any suggestions on which classes I should take that would transfer once I find a school? Any suggestions on a school? Any info from a current Engineer or someone attending class to become an engineer would be greatly appreciated.
    Thank you in advance,
    Brandon Eyres

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 26, 2015 #2
    Is it possible to take online courses with a (reputable) university? Not necessarily engineering courses, but perhaps you could get your general elective humanities courses and your math/science courses out of the way.

4. Jun 26, 2015 #3

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

It would help if you could tell us what sort of engineering you plan to study.

If your branch of service is the Army, this site may answer some of your questions:

http://www.goarmy.com/benefits/education-benefits/army-education/taking-classes-while-in-the-army.html [Broken]

Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2017
  5. Jun 26, 2015 #4

Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

As Steamking said, the first thing you should do is figure out what kind of engineer you want to be. That will determine what courses you'll have to take.