1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to cope with the workload of college?

1. Jun 17, 2014 #1
    I am new to college. In 12th grade I studied only 6 courses. But in college I have to study almost thrice that amount each year. So much of workload. It seems as if the entire 11th and 12th grade syllabus would be covered in 2 months or less. So how do i adapt myself to study at such a fast pace with heavy workload?

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 17, 2014 #2
    Basically, expect 6-8 hours of study (8 recommended, 6 minimum) per day after classes. I recommend doubling this amount on Saturdays. You may or may not take a rest on Sundays.

4. Jun 17, 2014 #3

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Yeah, so I think this is too extreme. Studying 8 hours a day is insane. And 16 hours on saturdays, really? You'll be burned out after a month.

Of course you need to study quite some amount of time. But in particular, you should study smart. Manage your time well and be sure not too waste time at things which are not so important. And most of all, try to have fun. You chose the major because you must like it somewhat. So you should keep trying to have fun with the material.

5. Jun 17, 2014 #4
    I would guess at least four months, but the point still stands :p

I like that you are being realistic about the workload you are about to have. It seems as if most new students (and some not-so-new students, I'm afraid) expect to be able to play games through class and come out with at least a B.

1. In your orientation class and many of your more difficult classes, the instructor will probably give study advice. Listen to it.

2. Prioritize by both difficulty and deadline.