1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I am having problems with lots of rigor.

1. Aug 10, 2012 #1
    Hello everyone,

Essentially, I am looking for advice as to what to do/how to improve/cope. It is my first time learning calculus and I am working through Spivak's Calculus. For the first few chapters the problems weren't that hard (up through derivatives and the fundamental theorem of calculus). Recently (i.e. the chapter on calculating integrals) the problems have gotten much more difficult and I cannot solve the ones that do not involve something beyond ordinary computation.

In general, I'm having a problem with mathematical rigor: I find it difficult and unmotivated to prove things that are obvious to me. For example, the cauchy schwarz inequality: it should be obvious that the dot product of two vectors is less than or equal to the products of their lengths, but proving it (at least for me, who doesn't know linear algebra) is nonintuitive and I can't remember it. Ultimately, I feel like I'm losing my confidence in my ability to do math.

By the way, I'm a high school student going into junior year. What advice do you have? Should I just move on to physics? My intuition behind the math I know is very good.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 10, 2012 #2
    Is your main interest in math or physics. If its in physics don't worry about rigor. Their are math proofs in physics.

4. Aug 10, 2012 #3

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award