1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I'm frustrated because of Field Theory

1. Oct 22, 2008 #1
    I'm now in my fourth year of physics and taking QFT right now. I always was quite OK gradewise at my german university, had a 1 (=A) in my pre-diploma, was among the best, and thought I can do what I want to do, which is fundamental physics. Right now I'm in the USA. Every teacher I had was strongly advising that everyone, even those who want to be experimentalists, attends a QFT lecture. So no question about it for me since I'm interested in theoretical physics.
    But right now I can't see how anyone but the best of the best are able to succeed in such a class. Our teacher is basically covering everything in Peskin/Schroeder and I'm reading the fourth chapter right now and I don't understand a single word anymore, not to mention being able to solve the problems. When I close the book because I'm frustrated it gets even worse, because it says "Introduction" on the cover. I'm wondering if those who I look up to, my professors and teachers, ever struggled like me, since I wanted to persue an academic carreer too. But right now I am doubting if I even can achieve a PhD.
    In my GTR class last year there was no exam, but I seemed to do fine. I don't know if I am lacking the basics or if the Peskin/Schroeder is just not suitable, but I don't how to master this whole topic.

So I'm in a little crisis right now. Maybe some of you have some advice about better books or a better technique, I don't know. Perhaps I just reached my limits, which would crush all my vague plans about the future.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 22, 2008 #2