Im studying a degree in Physics, now I hate it. Advice please

In summary: I agree with this assessment. I too hit the wall hard with quantum. I found the concepts fascinating, but the classes never taught the concepts. I looked over my notebooks a few years ago (I graduated in '88) and all I saw were integrals, matrices, and other operations I longer recognize. I did not have the persistence at the time that was required to get through the math, and so I waded through those classes with a 20 or 30% average (and that was, of course, a "C").In retrospect, I might have enjoyed engineering more, since that is (primarily) the application of classical mechanics and themodynamics, something I enjoy thoroughly.But
jamesa00789
So I enrolled on a BSc Physics degree 2 years ago. It been fine and interesting...but now I think I have made the wrong decision.

Now doing my first Quantum Mechanics module and Statistical Physics module...and I am finding this really hard to get my head around. When I come to study and revise for my exams, normalising a wave function I'm just thinking...whats the point of this. I hate it. I don't want to do this kind of stuff.

I find physics very interesting but damn, now I'm moving onto the more modern stuff...it's hard, I feel demotivated and generally don't like it. I got 10% in a Quantum test a few weeks ago. Always confused and don't really understand much. I have an exam in 14 days! While I do try and study a lot, I'm doing something I don't really enjoy anymore. I want to do well, but every time I get a bad grade I don't really care about it.

So I am just wondering if this is common or am I really screwed. Anyone else got this? Thank you!

Physics news on Phys.org
You may or may not 'use' everything you are taught, but knowing it is better than not knowing it.

(that almost sounds like a saying out of a fortune cookie)