1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Studying Im studying a degree in Physics, now I hate it. Advice please

1. Dec 30, 2009 #1
    So I enrolled on a BSc Physics degree 2 years ago. It been fine and interesting...but now I think I have made the wrong decision.

Now doing my first Quantum Mechanics module and Statistical Physics module...and I am finding this really hard to get my head around. When I come to study and revise for my exams, normalising a wave function I'm just thinking...whats the point of this. I hate it. I don't want to do this kind of stuff.

I find physics very interesting but damn, now I'm moving onto the more modern stuff...it's hard, I feel demotivated and generally don't like it. I got 10% in a Quantum test a few weeks ago. Always confused and don't really understand much. I have an exam in 14 days! While I do try and study a lot, I'm doing something I don't really enjoy anymore. I want to do well, but every time I get a bad grade I don't really care about it.

So I am just wondering if this is common or am I really screwed. Anyone else got this? Thank you!

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 30, 2009 #2
    You may or may not 'use' everything you are taught, but knowing it is better than not knowing it.

(that almost sounds like a saying out of a fortune cookie)

4. Dec 30, 2009 #3

cronxeh

Gold Member

Think of the future, where do you see yourself in 10, 20, 50 years? Do you really want to live in a world where you are an accountant and completely clueless? Physics is not hard, its just hard to explain it to you. Perhaps you should take courses that would provide the background for the subject, and try taking the classes again next year. You dont have to finish a BSc in 3-4 years

5. Dec 30, 2009 #4