Importance of the first 3 primes

• Thread starter trini
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Primes
In summary: The first few triplets of these numbers are 2, 3, 5, 7, 11, 13, 17, 19, 23, 29, 31, 37, 41, 43, 47, 53, 59, 61, 67, 71, 73, 79, 83, 89, 97.In summary, the first three prime numbers are significant to number theory because they are involved in the square of primes.
trini
hey guys, I am a student engineer and have found that the laws we use are primarily based off of stats. this has led me to an interest in number theory and groupings. I was hoping someone could help me with somehing, i would like to know the relevance of the first 3 primes(2,3,5) to math in general. to be more specific, do the first three three primes play a significant role in number theory? I feel like i am being vague, so maybe i should ask, does being a multiple of 2, 3 or 5, or a power of one of these three give a number any special properties?

Physics news on Phys.org
When it comes to checking for primes, the usual suggested calculator program says to check for 2 and 3--which is very easy, and then run a program using [tex]6X\pm1[/tex].

That way 2/3 of the integers are eliminated from further testing.

It could be worth mentioning that we have a prime number of hands (2) with a prime number of fingers on each (5) and, therefore, count everything in groups of ten.

i suppose if we're taking such naturalist possibilities one could mention that our bodies are based off of the first 3 primes, in particular the number 3:

-30 bones in each arm and leg (3 x 2 x 5)
-26 vertabrae(though 2 are composites of 5 and 4, so in all there are 33 = [23 x 3] + 32 ]
-24 ribs( 23 x 3 )
-3 fused pelvic bones

:)
These are funny facts to know, but they lack the 'therefore' part: do they influence math in general, or number theory in particular?