Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Infinite number of open intervals

1. Feb 1, 2006 #1
    I am a computer scientist that only recently got interested in topology. I have got the following question:

How to prove, in an elegant way, that an arbitrary sum of open intervals (a, b), where a is in R and b is in R, is open?

I have got some kind of a proof, but I am not sure it is right. Moreover, it is very bulky and I do not like it.

Thanx in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 1, 2006 #2

matt grime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Pick a point in the union, it lies in one of these intervals, and thus the union (not sum) must be open. Write down the definition of open if you need to.

Last edited: Feb 1, 2006
  4. Feb 1, 2006 #3
    Matt, I think I that I do not quite get it.

It is clear that any point of the union belongs to at least one of the contributing intervals (by the definition). Unfortunately, the second part escapes me.

5. Feb 1, 2006 #4

matt grime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Write down the definition of what it means for a set to be open. If you do not know what you're trying to prove you will never be able to prove it, or at least you won't know when you have proved it and when to stop.

6. Feb 1, 2006 #5
    Matt, I am clearly very resistant to the reasoning :blushing: .

I think it goes like that:

By the definition, any point of a union belongs to at least one of the contributing intervals.

An open interval is an interval which does not contain its borders.

Combining these two above we get:

The union does not contain the borders of the respective intervals (so, it is open), unless these intervals overlap.

And this is the overlapping that poses a problem for me. How can I check what happens when an infinite number of intervals overlap?