Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Heine-Borel Theorem shouldn't work for open intervals?

1. Jun 26, 2016 #1
    Okay, I am studying Baby Rudin and I am in a lot of trouble.
    I want to show that a closed interval [a,b] is compact in R. The book gives a proof for R^n but I am trying a different proof like thing.
    Since a is in some open set of an infinite open cover, the interval [a,a+r_1) is in that open set for an r_1. Similarly a+r_1 is in the closed interval, [a+r_1,a+r_1+r_2) is in an open set. Going like this we can reach an r_k such that a+r_1+r_2...+r_k is greater than or equal to b. Therefore an interval [c,b] is an open set and those open sets form a subcover of an infinite open cover. M=min{r_1,r_2....r_k}>0 Therefore k needs to be less than or equal to (b-a)/M which is clearly finite. Even if every interval [a+r_1...r_i,a+r_1....r_(i+1)) is contained in different open sets the number of open sets is finite.
    Every infinite open cover of an interval [a,b] has a finite subcover then it is compact.
    I think I am making a mistake because this should work for [a,b). But [0,1) is not compact.
    I am very confused, please help me out.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 26, 2016 #2

andrewkirk

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

This step is invalid.

4. Jun 26, 2016 #3
    why??

5. Jun 26, 2016 #4

andrewkirk

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

We have no reason to expect that any sum of ##r_k##s will reach ##b-a##. That would be the case for instance if we had ##r_k=2^{-k}(b-a)##.

6. Jun 27, 2016 #5
    But since our interval is covered by open sets some neighbourhood of each point is a subset of an open set. [a,c) is a subset of O_1, [c,d) is a subset of O_2 etc. Since B is contained in an open set B should we contained in a neighbourhood of some point.

7. Jun 27, 2016 #6

pasmith

Homework Helper