Intro to Topology Recommended Texts

• Thread starter STEM2012
  • Start date

Main Question or Discussion Point

I know there are some threads out there already, but none really help me (see my description below).

I am a high school student. My highest level of math education is Calculus I. I am currently taking Calculus II (although I already know the integration portion of this course).

I have no education in topology besides some simple knowledge from discrete math texts.

I need a topology text that is thorough, ideally has a solutions manual, and does NOT require knowledge of higher-level real/complex analysis.

Thanks in advance

Answers and Replies

Munkres will be your best bet. It starts from the very basics of set theory and it goes quite deep.
However, a lot of motivation for the things we do actually comes from real analysis. So it may very well happen that you find topology to be ill-motivated. But other than that, Munkres should be ideal for you.

Thanks micromass. Although its a bit pricy, my school is paying for it so I think I'll purchase it.

By the way, could you give me a good source for downloading the solutions manual. I've done some looking into that already, but everything I've found is incomplete and requires logging in through subscribing w/ pay (which I'd like to avoid).

Thanks micromass. Although its a bit pricy, my school is paying for it so I think I'll purchase it.

By the way, could you give me a good source for downloading the solutions manual. I've done some looking into that already, but everything I've found is incomplete and requires logging in through subscribing w/ pay (which I'd like to avoid).
I'm not aware that a solution manual even exists :frown: And I doubt you will find one without paying...

You're right about a nonexistent official solutions manual. I was looking at some solutions posted by other users, which I guess is the reason they were incomplete.