1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is there a lot of theory in Physics AS/A2?

1. Jan 11, 2013 #1
    I'm not too good at Physics generally, I scrapped a B on unit 1 initially and then just scrapped an A in the resit of unit 1 but I have heard the a-level includes a lot of maths but I'm not sure whether to do the A-Level because I'm not really good at Science, particularly physics and theoretical science where as Maths is an utter joke for me.However, I'm finding P2 a lot easier because it seems to include more maths and easier concepts and theory and I think I'm going to do well in it in two weeks time.It would also help my Further Maths course because I'm doing M1-M3.I sometimes enjoy Physics but sometimes don't and I'm terrible at practicals and have burnt equipment and easily could fail the ISA completely-I didn't get very good experimental results for the ISAs I've done but the practicals aren't marked so I was safe.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 11, 2013 #2

trollcast

Gold Member

I'm only started AS physics this year but I'd say you should take a look at some of the past papers for A2 Physics with your exam board and see what style of questions / maths content there is.

Have you talked with your physics teacher and / or a careers teacher (your school may have a different name) about your difficulties with physics and how you could resolve these and also whether dropping physics would affect uni applications or jobs etc.

You might get better replies and more specific replies about your exam board if your posted on a UK board like TSR (if you are with a UK exam board)

4. Jan 11, 2013 #3