Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is this a Deterministic Universe

1. Aug 21, 2013 #1
    Does the seemingly random nature of QM mean that the Universe is very non deterministic and does this mean that our existence is completely as a result of random chance, or am I significantly misunderstanding the nature of QM?

I am new to QM and the idea of determinism, and I just wanted to get an idea for the current mainstream view. I also read a quote recently, I forget who, that said that no one really understands QM and wondered if that plays a part also..

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 21, 2013 #2

DrChinese

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

You can really go all over the place with this topic, a lot of it being more philosophical than about physics.

A deterministic universe is a viable possibility even with QM as it is. There is a non-local theory called Bohmian Mechanics in which QM's predictions are replicated, and everything is fully deterministic too.

Also, a deterministic universe means "our existence is completely as a result of random chance" just as much as an indeterministic one does. The difference being that in one, our future has just one (random) possible outcome. In other interpretations of QM, there are many possible outcomes and none is more favored over another (although I guess some outcomes might be more likely in a sense).

4. Aug 21, 2013 #3
    Thanks Dr, please let me ask this in a slightly different way. If the exact same universe were to be reproduced or started over n times from t=0 i.e. the BB, what are the chances that I would be here typing this in every one? I have heard answers from other Physicists ranging from n to 1 and even 0.

Since I didn't do well in my QM class and it is so long ago, I am unable to judge which answer is most likely and so I wondered what most experts in modern QM think?