Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mineral and their composition

Tags:
  1. Mar 13, 2008 #1
    I'm currently doing a little research in PCM for asbestos ID. My background is in chemistry and I've had to wade through a good deal of mineral classification terminology. My question is this; If cummingtonite and anthophyllite - two of the six recognized species of commercial asbestos fiber - have identical chemical compositions -[Mg,Fe]7[Si8O22](OH)2 - why are they classified as different minerals? Again, I must stress that my background is in chemistry so the nomenclature of minerology is new to me.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 13, 2008 #2
    Polymorphism:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polymorphism_(materials_science)

Cummingtonite is monoclinic, anthophyllite is orthorhombic:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cummingtonite

4. Mar 13, 2008 #3
    When the nomenclature as written is -[Mg,Fe]7[Si8O22](OH)2 - does this mean that seven magnesium and seven iron atoms occur in each molecule, or is it a variation between the two, ie --[Mg]7[Si8O22](OH)2 - [Mg,Fe]7[Si8O22](OH)2 - -[Fe]7[Si8O22](OH)2 ?

5. Mar 13, 2008 #4

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Remember coal and diamond are the same chemical compound - but the difference is important to geologists!
    Sorry I haven't seen the [Mg,Fe] nomenclature before.

6. Mar 13, 2008 #5
    It means Fe or Mg, so:

[tex]Mg_7 (Si_4 O_{11} )_2 (OH)_2 [/tex]

or

[tex]Fe_7 (Si_4 O_{11} )_2 (OH)_2 [/tex]

but I don't remember if, in the same macroscopic crystal, it means there are both Fe and Mg or if there can be Fe only or Mg only.

7. Mar 13, 2008 #6
    I think those formulas describe the unit cell of the crystals. What each of the very smallest crystals contain, so, the microscopic crystals. And yeah, the difference between them is entirely related to their crystalline structure.