Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Need reliable resources on basic astronomy and quantum physics

1. Sep 11, 2015 #1
    I've been relying on Wikipedia and some other questionable sources for a basic understanding of these studies, and i don't think I should rely fully on these sources. If anyone can point me to a place that is reliable I would greatly appreciate it.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 11, 2015 #2

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Textbooks.

4. Sep 11, 2015 #3

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

5. Sep 11, 2015 #4

Astronuc

What is your starting point? What is one's background/experience in mathematics and physics?

The basics would be algebra and mechanics (statics and dynamics), and eventually one needs calculus.

6. Sep 14, 2015 #5
    Since I'm a freshman in high school, I'm pretty much looking for the basic theories and I'd sort out the equations later once I advance in mathematics.

7. Sep 14, 2015 #6
    Also, I'm looking for reliable sites. I can go to the library anytime I want to but I have to pay late fees. So I'm just looking for sites right now until I get enough money to pay my late fees.

8. Sep 17, 2015 #7

mfb

2016 Award

The theories are mathematics. You'll never understand (or even come up) with any theory without the mathematics.
    A long text about whatever is not a theory. Theories have to predict measurements, which means they have to provide a way to calculate the results of experiments.

9. Sep 18, 2015 #8