Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Photon-photon collision confusion

1. May 10, 2009 #1
    okay, i have to ask a stupid question. a short while ago, there was a thread discussing photon - photon collisions. being an amateur, i had always understood that two photons could not collide, and i stuck in a comment to that effect, indicating that since photons, once they are emitted, only exist as a probability function, and have no exact location until they are absorbed.

i was corrected, and told that the wiki article supporting what i had said was wrong, and pointed at some papers referring to current experiments with photon-photon collisions.

so, apparently, photons can collide with each other, but i simply cannot understand how that corresponds with what i have been taught, regarding the photon probability function and no precise location of a photon. for photons to collide, they must have some precise location, but to have a location, the probability function must be collapsed, which seems in conflict with the basic premise of QED.

can someone please try to provide some explanation of this for me? what am i misunderstanding? thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. May 10, 2009 #2

malawi_glenn

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

You have to stop thinking of collisions in the quantum world as two tiny balls colliding as in pool or snooker...

You have wave-packages, which is enough to build up a scattering formalism (you can do it with plane waves too if you want)

If you don't think electron-electron scattering is strange, or electron-photon scattering; then you should not think photon-photon scattering be strange...

4. May 10, 2009 #3