Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Medical Placebos Work In the Absence of Deception

1. Jul 2, 2012 #1
    http://www.psychologytoday.com/collections/201201/the-placebo-effect/wising-dummy-pills

The actual study:
    http://www.plosone.org/article/info:doi/10.1371/journal.pone.0015591

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 2, 2012 #2

Curious3141

Homework Helper

You know, I didn't want to get embroiled in your "nice" discussion on how you thought modern psychiatry is pseudoscience, and where you defended (the rest of) Medicine as not being pseudoscience. I'm not going to mention anything more about psych here so as not to derail the thread (I just mentioned it to highlight your interesting stance), but I will say this: as a medical doctor, I think the rest of Medicine also has a lot of baggage that might be called pseudoscience.

The placebo (and nocebo) effect is chief among them. It's ill-defined - is deception crucial to the definition of a proper placebo? Does this have to be "active" deception, i.e. do you have to tell the patient this is a wonder drug? Or can it be a "passive" deception, which is the form used in controlled clinical trials, where the patient is told they will not know whether they are getting active compound or placebo. I don't think anyone has previously considered this sort of "no deception" placebo, which is why this study is useful, but again, the fact that almost noone has thought about this very clearly till now is a bit depressing (though there was a BMJ letter in 1994 that mentioned Shapiro's definition of the placebo and distinguished briefly between "intentional" and "inadvertent" placebos). And of course, the mechanism of action is not well-elucidated at all, with lots of handwaving about neural pathways. The plethora of different postulated mechanisms that seem curiously unfalsifiable does not make for a proper scientific theory.