1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Prove divisibility, mathematical induction

1. Nov 6, 2016 #1
    I'm still learning English, had to use dictionary and translator, so I'm sorry if its unclear, i will try to explain it more if needed.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    For n belonging to N when n is even and n > 3, prove that
    (4^(n-3) + 5^(n-3) + 9) is divisible by 9

2. Relevant equations
    3. The attempt at a solution

P(n) = 4^(n-3) + 5^(n-3)+9
    for n = 4 :
    P(4) = 4^1 + 5^1 + 9 = 18, divisible by 9

Now assume that n=k, P(k) = 4^(k-3) + 5^(k-3)+9 is div by 9, then solve it for P(k+2) = 4^(k-1) + 5^(k-1)+9

And here is the problem, i know that i should use assumption from n=k, but i really don't know how. I have problem with rearranging things to involve it...this is what i tried to use somehow, but always get stuck without any clear step forward
    4^(k-3) + 5^(k-3)+9 = 4^(-2)*4^(k-1)+5^(-2)*5^(k-1)+9 = 9m
    Somehow i wanted to get that (k-1) exponent from it, but i cant deal with multipliers there

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 6, 2016 #2
    You should be working the other way around: try to rewrite P(k+2) in terms of quantities that you know are divisible by ##9##. Here's a good starting point: ##4^{k-1} + 5^{k-1} = 16\left(4^{k-3}\right) + 25 \left(5^{k-3}\right)##
    and note that by our inductive hypothesis, ##4^{k-3} + 5^{k-3}## is divisible by ##9##.

4. Nov 6, 2016 #3

PeroK

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

First, the question seems strange, as the ##+9## isn't doing anything and why start with ##n = 4## then use ##n-3##? Why not just start with ##n = 1## and prove it for odd ##n##?

Anyway, have you thought of using ##mod \ 9##?

5. Nov 6, 2016 #4