Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Pulsing a diode laser with very long pulses and very low repetition rates

1. Dec 11, 2008 #1

I am an electronic engineer doing some research on high power laser diodes.

The problem I try to solve needs ~2300W of optical peak power coming from a high power laser diode.

The pulses must be with very long (30ms) at very low repetition rates (2Hz).
    So,the duty cycle is DC = 0.06.

The calculations I do with the above parameters yield an average power
    Pav= Ppeak x DC = 2300 x 0.06 = 138W.

Now the confusing part:

I have been told that the "average optical power" is not equal with the "optical power in CW mode" for very long pulses and very low repetition rates.

Hence, I can not use a laser diode which has 140W optical power in CW mode to get the needed ~2300W peak power.

Is that true ? Why ?

Are there any formulas that I can use to do the calculations for very long pulses to drive a laser diode ?
    Any suggested books to read would be greate help..

Best Regards
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 11, 2008 #2
    The reason that average pulsed power and CW power aren't necessarily the same is that when you first turn on a laser, you get better performance out of it for a brief time. Assuming that current injection happens quickly, the population inversion is larger than the threshold value for a brief time (as the photon density hasn't yet had time to build up), and the device is also at a lower temperature than when it has been on for a long time. So, if you imagine pulsing a laser as a series of turning a laser on, turning it off again, and letting it cool off before turning it on again, then it should be clear that average pulsed power is higher than CW power.