Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question for Mechanical Engineering students

1. Jul 24, 2008 #1
    Hey guys, I am a freshman at a local community college, I am just about to finish up my summer semester of calculus2 and engineering graphics. I will more than likely receive an A in both of the courses.

I've yet to take any physics course, or any real math-intensive engineering course, and I am very intimidated. My question for those that have more experience under their belt is, what courses are the most difficult ones? And what is it about them that makes them so difficult?

I have heard others say that calculus 2 was one of the most difficult courses, I opted to take it over the summer where I could invest more time in it. I have something like a 97 test average in there now with one test left. I realize that this question may seem silly and insignificant, but what I have learned is that if I know what I am facing, then I don't have problems and I don't panic.

For calculus 2 I have spent about 6 hours outside of class for every hour that I was in class. How many other courses are this demanding?

Next semester I plan on taking:
    Physics with calculus 1
    Introduction to Electrical Engineering
    Engineering Statics
    Vector Calculus (calc3)

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 24, 2008 #2

Mech_Engineer

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Different people will have different opinions of which classes were most difficult for them. Overall, I found Differential Equations to be somewhat difficult, but I think that had more to do with the teacher and less to do with the material. I truly feel that the right teacher makes a 100% difference in the difficulty in the class.

4. Jul 24, 2008 #3

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor