Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question for the physics pros

1. Apr 26, 2010 #1
    With Hawking's new show out and all of the other shows similar to it, I'm wondering what your take might be about these programs. Do you find them irresponible in their tendancy to gloss over weighty concepts(as I am no pro, this does annoy me) or do you find them to be helpful in creating an interest in general in the field?
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 26, 2010 #2
    I never needed sci-fi to be interested in physics. First relativity, and then quantum mechanics, and then both together ... thanks, it already shook my personal preconceptions quite enough to motivate me to study seriously. This being said, I do not have a television.
  4. Apr 26, 2010 #3
    funny---I have relativity and quantum theory links under my science fiction bookmark folder; and, same here for a while no tv (for about 17 years-do have one now though)
  5. Apr 26, 2010 #4
    You're welcome?
    I'd take this to mean that you either find Hawking or television's interpretation of him as sci-fi? Either way I should have perhaps been more clear that I was soliciting the opinions of those who had seen such programs.

*Relativity is what got me too.
  6. Apr 26, 2010 #5
    Yes, especially his latest comment on alien life. From the individual who made the most important (the only ?) experimental prediction in quantum gravity, and who has to think quite a while before communicating anything, I was rather disappointed.