Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Questions about derivation of equation

1. Sep 7, 2013 #1
    I'm studying linear elasticity and I came across an equation that I having problems figuring out the derivation. I want to understand this in case I may need to know it later in the course. The equation is as follows:

[itex]\frac{\partial^2e_{zz}}{\partial x \partial y} = \frac{\partial}{\partial z}\left(\frac{\partial e_{yz}}{\partial x} + \frac{\partial e_{zx}}{\partial y} - \frac{\partial e_{xy}}{\partial z}\right)[/itex]

I'm trying to understand this derivation with the given relationships below.

[itex]e_{xx} = \frac{\partial U_x}{\partial x}[/itex]
    [itex]e_{yy} = \frac{\partial U_y}{\partial y}[/itex]
    [itex]e_{zz} = \frac{\partial U_z}{\partial z}[/itex]

[itex]e_{xy} = 1/2\left(\frac{\partial U_y}{\partial x} + \frac{\partial U_x}{\partial y}\right)[/itex]
    [itex]e_{yz} = 1/2\left(\frac{\partial U_z}{\partial y} + \frac{\partial U_y}{\partial z}\right)[/itex]
    [itex]e_{zx} = 1/2\left(\frac{\partial U_x}{\partial z} + \frac{\partial U_z}{\partial x}\right)[/itex]

The only thing that makes sense is that the derivative with respect to x and y was taken on [itex]e_{zz}[/itex].

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 7, 2013 #2

tiny-tim

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

hi roldy! :smile:

if you expand [itex]\left(\frac{\partial e_{yz}}{\partial x} + \frac{\partial e_{zx}}{\partial y} - \frac{\partial e_{xy}}{\partial z}\right)[/itex] by using those definitions,

you'll get 6 terms, of which 4 should cancel :wink:

4. Sep 7, 2013 #3
    I understand that. The problem I'm having is deriving the first equation from the other equations.

5. Sep 8, 2013 #4

tiny-tim

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper