Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

R^2 - A, with A being a countable set, path-connected?

1. Feb 16, 2010 #1
    So I'm studying for an exam and one of the practice questions is to prove that the complement of R^2 to any countable set A is path connected.

I also assume this extends to any R^n larger than R^2 but that's not important. So this is intuitively obvious, since when you take out these discrete points from R^2 you can always find a path from X to Y anyway (with X and Y being points in R^2 not in A). But how do I go about proving this?

Is there some way to extend the proof that R^n - {0} is path connected? Or is there an easier way? Thank you for your help!

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 16, 2010 #2
    Really? [itex]\mathbb Q^2[/itex] is both countable and dense in [itex]\mathbb R^2[/itex]. Is it so obvious in this case?

Here's a hint: let [itex]x,y \in \mathbb R^2[/itex] and consider the set of all lines passing through them; do all these lines must contain points from A?

4. Feb 16, 2010 #3
    Lol, you're right, it's not as obvious as I thought. Usually nothing is that obvious to me in Topology anyway. Okay, so taking your hint:

Lets have two points in R^2, x and y. For x, lets take all the lines that intersect with it. Now visualizing it, it looks like a shining star centered at x (with rays going outwards). My claim is that there exists a line that does not intersect with A. Why does this line, call it L, exist?

Well since A is countable... it should imply A is uncountable if it DID intersect with L at some point. Thus contradiction. (This is where I need help).

Now since L exists for x, a similar argument shows line K exists for point y. Since these lines are of infinite length, they must intersect at some point (unless they're parallel), thus you can make a path from x to y using the lines.