Radient energy vs nonradient energy

• Thread starter jsomers
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Energy
In summary: I'm not sure what you're asking. The Einstein field equations couple c and the stress-energy tensor: R_{\mu \nu} - {1 \over 2}g_{\mu \nu}\,R + g_{\mu \nu} \Lambda = {8 \pi G \over c^4} T_{\mu \nu}
jsomers
Hi People

I am brand new to these forums and brand new to phyics (wells its been about 4 years so its safe to say I have pretty much forgotten everything but the basics)

Anyhow I am just beginning my PhD in Genetics where I will be using Förster resonance energy transfer to investigate the assembly of particular proteins. In my quest to understand the physics behind this phenomenon I came across this diagram:

http://www.olympusmicro.com/primer/techniques/fluorescence/fret/images/fretintrofigure3.jpg

What I don't really understand from it is what is the difference between radiant energy and non-radiant energy.

Forgive me if this is very basic but google has been little help so i thought id ask here.

Thanks for your time.

Jason

Physics news on Phys.org
jsomers said:
What I don't really understand from it is what is the difference between radiant energy and non-radiant energy.

Energy transferred by photons (electromagnetic radiation) is a radiant energy transfer.

Energy transferred by resonance, or by kinetic energy going from one atom to another, is non-radiant energy transfer.

Cheers -- sylas

Wow that was simple, thanks for the speedy reply!

The transfer of energy does not invovle kinetic mechanisms, for FRET.

FRET is a non-radiant form of energy transfer by a dipole-dipole interaction. It's called non-radiant because there is no photon involved in the transfer of energy, only the evanescent (non-propagating) component of the electromagnetic field. This is why FRET experiments are sensitive to both separation distance and relative orientation of the two dipoles.

Andy Resnick said: