1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Realistically, where can I go from here?

1. Dec 28, 2008 #1
    Applied Phys Undergrad to Phys Ph. D.-- Where can I go from here?

I am a student in Columbia's SEAS, majoring in Applied Physics. My GPA is pretty bad (2.47, with 2 semesters left to go, so it could potentially go up to 2.9) and I am doing research with a physics professor, but no publications as of yet. I have never failed or withdrawn from a class, but have a couple of D's in classes not directly for my major. I am also a girl, and a US citizen (I've been given the impression these things and my school affect my chances, but I don't know). What should I shoot for graduate-school-wise? I'd like to get into a Ph. D. program in physics or applied physics, probably focusing on HEP or astrophysics.
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2008
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 28, 2008 #2

Staff: Mentor

Is that your physics GPA or your overall GPA?
  4. Dec 29, 2008 #3
    My physics GPA is almost exactly that as well. As I go along, though, my semester GPAs have been improving, my most recent was 2.93. I know this sounds bad, but I am required by my program to take 4-5 technical courses every semester. I love science and math, but that much technical material at once causes me to burn out somewhere in the middle of the semester, and then rally for finals. I'm not proud of my methods thus far and hope to turn things around in coming semesters. Could I be saved possibly by a high score on the PGRE? Is it that bad?
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2008
  5. Dec 29, 2008 #4

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2015 Award