Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Solve second order ode with Green function

1. Jul 6, 2013 #1
    I had made a post in the past about the same problem and unfortunately I wasn't clear enough
    so I am trying again.

I am studying an article and there I found without any proof that the solution of:
    Let ##g \in \mathbb{C}## and let ##u:(0,\infty)\to \mathbb{C}##
    $$ -u''+\lambda^2u=f\,\, on \,(0,\infty);\quad u(0)=g,\quad \lim_{x\to\infty}u(x)=0,$$
    is given by using a Green's function and it is the following:

For $$z\in (0,\infty),$$
    ##u(z)=\frac{1}{2\lambda^2}\Bigl(e^{-\lambda z}\int_{0}^{\lambda z}e^yf(y/\lambda)dy+e^{\lambda z}\int_{\lambda z}^{\infty}e^{-y}f(y/\lambda)dy-
    e^{-\lambda z}\int_{0}^{\infty}e^{-y}f(y/\lambda)dy\Bigr)+ge^{-\lambda z}.##

I would be very grateful if someone explain me how can green's function be find for this problem, because I am interested to find a respectively solution for the problem,

$$ -u''+\lambda^2u'=f\,\, on \,(0,\infty);\quad u(0)=g,\quad \lim_{x\to\infty}u(x)=0.$$

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 6, 2013 #2

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Do you not have the definition of the "Green's function"? That's really all you need.

The Green's function for linear differential operator L(f), on [itex](0, \infty)[/itex] is the function G(x,t) such that
    L(G(x,t))= 0 for every t.
    G(x,t) is continuous for all x, t.
    The derivative of G(x, t), with respect to x, is continuous for x< t and continuous for x> t but has a step discontinuity of 1 at x= t.
    G(0, t)= 0 and [itex]\lim_{x\to\infty} G(x, t)= 0[/itex].

Okay, [itex]-G''+ \lambda G= 0[/itex] so that [itex]G(x, t)= A(t)e^{\lambda x}+n B(t)e^{-\lambda x}[/itex] for x< t, and [itex]G(x, t)= C(T)e^{\lambda x}+ D(t)e^{-\lambda x}[/itex] for x> t.
    (We can, without loss of generality, assume that [itex]\lambda\ge 0[/itex].)