Spiking drinks -- how about straws to detect when a drink is spiked?

• Thread starter saretta9999
  • Start date
In summary: After a drink has been spiked.In summary, this project is attempting to solve a problem that is not practical or feasible.
saretta9999
TL;DR Summary
I am a Graphic design student in London, and a project require us to investigate i the subject matter we've chosen.
Hi everyone, I am developing a project to raise awareness about drink spiking. I was thinking what if we could create sone sort of straws that turns on another colour when the drink is being spiked? Currently is completely hypothetical, but I would like to understand if
concretely is possible. If so, would be best to have the straws with lines (which would change colour) or any design could be applied?(like stars, or typography). As well which colour would be actually doable?

thank you for your help
Sara

Likes 256bits
Chemistry news on Phys.org
The commonest way to spike a drink is to add more alcohol. As people in bars tend to drink alcohol, I can't see this working very well.

DrJohn said:
The commonest way to spike a drink is to add more alcohol. As people in bars tend to drink alcohol, I can't see this working very well.
This honestly never occurred to me.

I mean, I guess,,, but is it done? Is it done commonly? (I mean, beyond spiking the punch bowl.)

DrJohn said:
This is like saying that most DUI’s happen under the influence of alcohol so it makes no sense to worry about any other drugs. The point is harm reduction. OP’s idea is not a bad one.

The police say that adding an extra shot to a drink, say a drink that had a large amount of Cola or fruit juice and a single shot of vodka is the most widely practised form of drink spiking. Typically ordering the next drink with a double instead of the single requested. The victim happily drinks what they think is a low alcohol drink but ends up drinking twice as much all evening.