1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Studying Steps to take to pursue a Ph.D in Physics with a Math degree

1. Aug 3, 2016 #1
    Hi all,

I graduated with a degree in math about a year and a half ago. I've recently become very interested in the idea of Physics. I've always loved physics, but for some reason, probably because I never really did the kind of self-introspection I try to practice now, I majored in Math and Computer Science.

I would like to try and work towards a Ph.D in Physics. I've ordered an introductory Physics textbook and plan on working through that to reacquaint myself with Physics (took AP Physics in high school, got an A and loved it, and that's the main Physics knowledge I have. I'm certain this text will get me farther in my knowledge than even that class did.)

After working through that text book, what are your recommendations? Would I need to enroll in a full time university and take a year or two of Physics as a dedicated student? Could I do it part-time? I live in Chicago, so schools are abundant, both full universities and community colleges. Would I even need to take university courses (i.e. could I do it self-study?) I've always been a smart guy, so I have no doubts I could do the self study way if that's feasible, but it may not look good to a program.

Basically, how would someone with only an AP Physics course, but who's always read physics texts for fun and been interested in it, go about getting the knowledge and experience to pursue a Ph.D in physics?

Thank you for any answers, I'm excited to see where this new path may take me through the years!

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 3, 2016 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor