Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Stuck on a 3D coordinate geometry problem

1. May 11, 2012 #1
    Dear all,

I am a medical doctor stuck with a mathematics problem. I have taken a project to map the 3D movement of a particular bone and describe its motion. My maths knowledge is a bit lacking. However using logic I felt that I would need to track 3 constant markers on the particular bone and use its coordinates at different points in time to map motion.

by using trilateration I managed to map the coordinates at different times.

However I am still stuck and unsure as to how to accurately describe how the bone
    1. translates
    2. rotates around the 3 axis

how would a physicist/engineer or mathematicians approach such a problem?

your help is much appreciated.

Yasith

2. jcsd
  3. May 12, 2012 #2

chiro

Science Advisor

Hey yasith and welcome to the forums.

In physics and computer graphics (and computer games involving 3D gameplay and rendering) we solve this by using hierarchical co-ordinate systems. The mathematics of this involves linear algebra and creating matrices for scaling, rotation and translation and multiplying these together to get the final transformation for each co-ordinate system.

Translations are easy as they are always the same form of matrix. Rotations can be done several ways: one is euler-angles (don't do this), the other is angle-axis rotation and the other final popular method is through what is known as quaternion algebras. You don't have to understand the math, but understand that the axis-angle method works by defining an axis to rotate around and then an angle between 0 and 2pi in radians.

Quaternions are good if you want to take multiple rotations and merge them together in one rotation just in case you are wondering.