Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

System of ODE - comparison with paper

1. Sep 28, 2015 #1
    I have the following system of differential equations, for the functions ##A(r)## and ##B(r)##:

##A'-\frac{m}{r}A=(\epsilon+1)B##

and

##-B' -\frac{m+1}{r}B=(\epsilon-1)A##

##m## and ##\epsilon## are constants, with ##\epsilon<1##. The functions ##A## and ##B## are the two components of a spinor.
    By solving the first equation for ##B##, and substituting in the other one, we get a second-order differential for ##A##.Its solutions are modified Bessel functions, and due to the boundary conditions that I have, only those of the first kind are admissable solutions. Having solved for ##A##, going back to the first equation, we can find ##B##. Consequently, ##B=\frac{1}{\epsilon+1}...##. However, in a paper I am studying, the solution to this system is given by ##A=(\epsilon-1)(I_{m})## and ##B=I_{m+1}##. I understand the modified Bessel function part, but the prefactors seem odd to me. Even if we start by solving for ##B## instead of ##A## in the beginning, still ##A## ought to be equal to ##\frac{1}{\epsilon-1} *...## as is given by the second equation. Does anyone have any idea how to reach this result?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 28, 2015 #2

pasmith

Homework Helper

The equation I get for [itex]B[/itex] is [tex]
    r^2B'' + (1 + \epsilon m)rB' - ((m+1)^2 - \epsilon m(m+1) + (1 - \epsilon^2)r^2)B = 0
    [/tex] which is not the modified Bessel equation [tex]
    r^2I_\alpha'' + rI_\alpha' - (r^2 + \alpha^2)I_\alpha = 0
    [/tex] except when [itex]\epsilon = 0[/itex], and if [itex]\epsilon = 0[/itex] then [itex]A = I_m[/itex].

I agree that if you substitute [itex]B = I_{m+1}[/itex] into [tex]
    B' + \frac{m+1}r B = (1 - \epsilon) A[/tex] then you obtain [itex]I_m = (1 - \epsilon)A[/itex], so either the paper contains an error or you have misread it.