Took too many short cuts, suffering as a result

• Thread starter FatPhysicsBoy
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Short
In summary, the individual is a Physics student in their third year of a four-year MSci degree. They have always performed well academically, but have a tendency to take shortcuts and avoid certain topics in exams. In their second year, they realized this was due to a fear of failure and overcame it, achieving a first class average. However, they are now facing two problems: knowledge gaps from taking shortcuts and laziness in their free time. They have a strong desire to become a physicist, but fear their personality will hold them back from achieving a PhD and becoming a professor. They are seeking advice and suggestions to overcome these issues.
FatPhysicsBoy
I know this isn't a counselling website, but what the hell, here goes..

A little bit of background:

Hi everyone, I am a Physics student at a UK university currently in my 3rd year of a 4 year MSci (Integrated Masters) degree. I am doing well so far on my course, I achieved an average of 59-60% in year 1 (which didn't count towards the degree) and 73% in year 2. I have always done well academically (in Mathematics and Physics) as I have always found exams in these subjects (stressful like everyone else but also) quite easy. I narrowly missed an A* in Mathematics (Edexcel) at A-level, achieved an A in Physics (OCR - Rubbish easy exam board), a C in Chemistry (Edexcel), and a D in AS Biology (Edexcel). I have always been extremely lazy, I enjoy doing nothing more than a normal person should - my free time consists of doing things that involve almost no activity such as watching movies or mindlessly roaming the island of Grand Theft Auto. When it came to revising for exams, I used to put off revision for as long as I could - usually engaging in the sorts of activities I specified above. Once enough pressure and stress had built up I would begin revision by cutting out areas - predicting exam topics