1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

True or false questions for density

1. Nov 9, 2015 #1
    Hello, I'm a trainee teacher and I'm delivering a lesson with a practical where the students find the densities of various objects. I want to end the class with 8 to 10 true or false questions about density which test misconceptions on density. The one I have is

Is a dense object always heavy?

If anyone has any suggestions on others I could ask I would be very grateful.

Kind regards

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 9, 2015 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Very fun question.

"Using only a Beam Balance, how can you determine which object is denser?"

"Using only plastic grocery bags and a swimming pool, how can you determine which object is denser?"

:smile:

EDIT -- Oops, sorry, I missed that they were supposed to be True/False questions. But these two questions can be re-formulated to be T/F as well.

Last edited: Nov 10, 2015
  4. Nov 9, 2015 #3

berkeman

BTW, my first question works for objects of different sizes, but my second question does not. Can you say why? :smile:

5. Nov 9, 2015 #4

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

will an object more dense than water float? (~trick question; depends on shape)

6. Nov 9, 2015 #5

berkeman

Ack -- I'm not getting it. PM me a hint?

7. Nov 9, 2015 #6

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

seems obvious, if you take a steel sheet it will sink but form it into a boat and it will float. Do you think that's somehow cheating?

8. Nov 9, 2015 #7

berkeman

Depends on your definition of density. Or density, depending on the year... :smile:

9. Nov 10, 2015 #8

Andy Resnick

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Here's a couple: