What is different between "holds" and "holds true"?

• Thread starter bacte2013
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Proof
In summary, the conversation discusses the use of the terms "holds" and "holds true" when making a claim about a statement holding for some numbers in a set. The participants conclude that the two terms have the same meaning and do not leave any possibility for the statement to not be true for all numbers in the set. They also mention the use of quantifiers and proper phrasing to explicitly express which members of a set satisfy a certain property.
bacte2013
Hello!

I am currently studying the analysis, and I have a quick question. Whenever i claim (in proof) that a statement P holds for some x in R, can I assume that P holds true for some arbitrary numbers in R but not for all possible numbers in R? What is a difference between the terms "holds" and "holds true"? I know this is a subtle problem, but I am actually quite confused about it.

Mathematics news on Phys.org
I have never come across any distinction between 'holds' and 'holds true'. They are both just ways of saying 'it is the case'.

andrewkirk said:
I have never come across any distinction between 'holds' and 'holds true'. They are both just ways of saying 'it is the case'.

Does that mean "theorem holds for all x in R" and "theorem hold true for all x in R" are the same? Does the word "hold" contain any possibility of leaving a possibility of a theorem to be not true for all X in R, while "holds true" definitely assume the truth of the theorem?

bacte2013 said:
Does that mean "theorem holds for all x in R" and "theorem hold true for all x in R" are the same?
Yes.

Does the word "hold" contain any possibility of leaving a possibility of a theorem to be not true for all X in R, while "holds true" definitely assume the truth of the theorem?
No. The two phrasings mean exactly the same thing.

bacte2013 said: