What SI Gear Standards Do You Use?

In summary: This long list does not really answer my questions. The questions are specifically about Standards and the notation/terminology of those standards, not just about definitions.
Dr.D
I am an American author, working on a revision for my Theory of Machines textbook. In the past, I used only US Customary units, but now see a need to introduce SI units. This is particularly a problem with regard to gear standards.

An internet search shows that there are dozens of SI-based gear standards, coming from ISO, AGMA, DIN, JIS, etc. They are all basically similar, but they are presumably not quite alike (else there would be no need for so many of them).

This raises two questions for which I would appreciate comments:

1) What SI gear standard is likely to have the most universal appeal?

2) How firmly is the SI gear notation/terminology established?

In the second question, I'm concerned about some notations/terms that strike me as strange, such as z = number of teeth, a = center-to-center distance, "reference pressure angle" rather than "nominal pressure angle," etc. Is the world agreed on these terms, or is there some lea way allowed?

Engineering news on Phys.org
Thank you for the reply, Baluncore. Unfortunately, the URL you provided does not really address my questions. The questions are specifically about Standards and the notation/terminology of those standards, not just about definitions.

Is there anyone else out there concerned with SI gear standards? My interest is with spur gearing only, not any of the more complex forms. Responses to the two questions would be much appreciated.

Dr.D said:
1) What SI gear standard is likely to have the most universal appeal?
SI is the International System of units, based on metric and decimal systems. SI is a standard managed by the International Standards Organisation = ISO.