What universities have really cool programs for EEs?

In summary, the speaker is an EE student at UC Colorado Springs and is interested in transferring to a university with a strong focus on electromechanics, particularly railgun research. They are also interested in universities with strong EE programs and opportunities for research and clubs, specifically in the fields of EM accelerators, weapons, laser technology, and wireless electricity. They mention considering the University of Texas at Austin, but are open to other options and suggest doing research to find a university that appeals to them. They also mention being partial to their alma mater, Texas A&M, which is known for being veteran friendly.
ryccoh
I'm currently an EE student going to UC Colorado Springs, definitely a decent university but I'd like to really get the best out of my education and since I'm on the Post 9/11 GI bill I don't have to worry about residency requirements. I have been keeping my GPA well polished to be able to make this shift.

I was reading that a lot of early railgun research was done at the Center for Electromechanics at UT Austin and thought that would be a great uni to go to. At this point though they seem to focus mainly on compulsators which is still very interesting.

Can you think of Universities that have just really good EE colleges or are doing cool things like research or clubs?

I love EM accelerators and weapons and very interested in laser technology and wireless electricity but I'm sure I could get interested in many other fields.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
I may be partial to my Alma Mater, but Texas A&M is a great school. They are Veteran friendly too, in my experience. Do some research and see what appeals to you.

1. What universities are known for having top-ranked programs in Electrical Engineering?