1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

B What use is there for rationalizing denominator?

1. May 17, 2016 #1
    I've been learning algebra for the past 2 years (in high school), not once have we ever had to rationalize a denominator in a radical expression. I am now relearning Algebra and Trig., what use is there? I mean, all you're doing is switching the numerator (rational) to the Denominator (irrational) in terms of rationality. (not actually switching the numbers).

Rational / Irrational → Irrational / Rational

2. jcsd
  3. May 17, 2016 #2
    After quite a while of thinking about this, the only conclusion I can come up with is to simplify it.

Say for example, 6 / √12 → 6√3 / √(12 ⋅ 3) → 6√3 / 6 → √3

4. May 17, 2016 #3

Mark44

Staff: Mentor

The main rationale behind this technique is that it's easier to divide an irrational number by a rational number than the other way around, especially if you don't have a calculator or computer to do the work for you.

The technique is also used for fractions that involve complex numbers. For example, ##\frac 1 i## can be simplified by multiplying by the complex conjugate over itself; i.e., by multiplying by ##\frac{-i}{-i}## (which is 1). So ##\frac 1 i = \frac 1 i \cdot \frac{-i}{-i} = \frac{-i}{1} = -i##.

5. May 17, 2016 #4
    Thanks, and a small side question: How do you create the fractions? (on this forum)

6. May 17, 2016 #5

jedishrfu

We use Latex codes and it is rendered by the MathJax javascript library.

https://www.physicsforums.com/help/latexhelp/

There's a simple example of the quadratic formula that has a fraction in it.

7. May 17, 2016 #6

FactChecker

Science Advisor
    Gold Member